Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Perhaps fro-yo is a bit of a guilty pleasure of mine…those places where you can prepare your own deep dish cup of soft-serve creamy tartness with colorful fruits or rich chocolates are one of my favorite after-workout snacks. Perhaps just one of my favorite snacks in general, but, let’s face it, going out for frozen yogurt twice a week probably isn’t financially sustainable. So I needed to find a way to recreate this taste in my home. And thank GOODNESS for my good little ice cream maker. I think it has quickly become one of my best friends in the kitchen, and we’ve only known one another for less than a year! Kyle is jealous. Not really :)

I’ve tried making homemade frozen yogurt before, and, to be honest, it just came out too…yogurty. Very thick and not tart enough, this first version of my yogurt adventure was a bit of a flop in my opinion. So this time, I needed a new outlook. The brand of yogurt you choose has a huge impact on the end result. My favorite Greek yogurt is Wegman’s brand 0% fat plain Greek yogurt. You really can’t go wrong with this brand! Use your favorite Greek yogurt, and you’ll achieve the perfect tartness and taste for you!

One tweak I would make to this recipe is perhaps adding more yogurt and less milk as well as adding a bit more vodka (to keep it soft in the freezer).

half-eaten vanilla frozen yogurt

Vanilla Frozen Yogurt

2 cups plain, nonfat Greek yogurt
1 cup milk
2/3 cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla
2 tsps vodka
pinch of salt

In a medium bowl, whisk together all ingredients until smooth, making sure the batter mixture is cold before churning. While the dasher is in motion, pour yogurt batter in to the ice cream maker and freeze according to manufacturer instructions. Enjoy without getting chubby in the process.

Add any toppings you love and serve! I love berries with a few mini-semi-sweet chocolate chips! NOM!

