Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Whew!! That was a mouthful. No, literally…a mouthful of brownies! I am a dessert fanatic. Just ask Kyle. He is always telling me I don’t need to have dessert after every meal. I simply disagree; I need at least a tiny morsel of chocolate almost every time I eat! It could be an addiction, but life is short. Maybe I should start eating dessert first…

I hope you enjoy this brownie recipe; I certainly had my doubts. When I first read the recipe (courtesy of BakerStreet, found here), I thought that the amount of butter seemed excessive. Not only that, but it makes an entire 9×13 pan full of chocolately, hazelnutty, peanut-buttery heaven. Probably too much heaven for one recipe. Hence, I cut it in half, and it worked just splendidly! A flakey, crispy top crust with a moist and satisfying center that melts in your mouth awaited me when I pulled it out of the oven. Hints of peanut butter are evident, but the nutella is not very noticeable. Next time I would either add all peanut butter or all nutella. Nonetheless, these brownies were spectacular and rich with a deep mix of flavors perfect for serving guests.

Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Nutella Brownies

Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Nutella Brownie

Kelsey enjoying a brownie!

Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Nutella Brownies (original recipe can be found here)


1/2 cup butter
1 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 large eggs at room temperature
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup good quality cocoa (I use Hershey’s Special Dark)
Dash of salt
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 cup Nutella
1/4 cup peanut butter

Preheat oven to 350 F and spray an 8×8 glass baking dish with cooking spray.

Melt butter in a medium bowl in the microwave. Stir in sugar and vanilla. Transfer to an electric mixer, adding eggs one at a time until incorporated. Beat well after each addition.

Whisk all dry ingredients together in a separate bowl. Slowly add the flour mixture to the butter/egg mixture and beat until incorporated.

Mix peanut butter and nutella in a small microwave-safe bowl. Heat in a microwave until the nut butters become smooth and runny. Add to the electric mixer, and stir until combined.

Pour batter into prepared baking dish and bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out semi-clean when pressed in the center.

Sprinkle with mini chocolate chips and serve warm with vanilla bean ice cream.

This recipe is wonderful and easy enough to make on the fly. I hope you enjoy my version! Next time, it’s going to be all nutella and no peanut butter for me!

