Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I love being in the midst of springtime. Everything is finally turning green, and, best of all, fruit is now in season!! Yes, I know you can buy pretty much whatever fruit you want all year, but I’m trying to be more eco-friendly! If it’s not in season, it probably came from far, far away. I’ll try to stick to the most local produce I can.

Anyway…blackberries are one of my favorite fruits. They are beautiful and come with a sweet-tartness that is just right. Especially when they’re on sale at Trader Joe’s. Jackpot!

After a trip to Carmen and David’s ice cream shop in Lancaster, PA, I’ve been on the hunt for a blackberry ice cream recipe that might compete with their blackberry chocolate chip flavor.

And so I attempted the feat of churning the purple batter in my glorious Kitchen Aid ice cream maker last night. It has never failed me before. And it almost did last night. Here is a word of advice to all you ice cream connoisseurs out there – DON’T POUR THE BATTER IN THE ICE CREAM BOWL WHEN THE DASHER ISN’T MOVING. Big mistake. Good thing I had Kyle around to muscle it through, otherwise I would’ve been stuck with a cold mess of berry batter all over my kitchen. Yes, and I mean ALL over the kitchen. I may have panicked a bit when the base froze to the sides of the bowl and the dasher was locked in place. I may have tried to dig it out with a spatula and flung plops of ice cream onto the walls. Oh, but Kyle saved the day! He scraped that frozen stuff from the chilled interior of my mixer and got the dasher on the move. PHEW! I pretty much always learn these lessons the hard way. :)

churning blackberry ice cream
Blackberry Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

Blackberry Chocolate Chip Ice Cream Adapted from The Pioneer Woman Delicious Blackberry Ice Cream


2 pints fresh blackberries
juice of 1/2 a lemon
1/4 cup sugar
1 1/2 cups half-and-half
1 cup sugar
5 egg yolks
1 1/2 cups light cream
1/2 to 3/4 cup mini semi-sweet chocolate chips

Add blackberries to a medium saucepan with 1/4 cup sugar and lemon juice. Cook over low heat, covered, for 20 to 25 minutes. Drain using a fine mesh strainer, pressing berries to extract as much juice/puree as possible (This takes some effort.). Set aside.

Heat half-and-half and 1 cup sugar in a separate saucepan over low heat. Turn off heat when mixture is totally heated.

Beat egg yolks by hand or with an electric mixer until yolks are pale yellow and slightly thick. Temper the egg yolks by slowly drizzling into the 1 1/2 cups of hot half-and-half mixture, whisking constantly. After that, pour the egg yolk/half-and-half mixture into the pan containing the rest of the half-and-half mixture. Cook over low to medium-low heat (depending on how hot your stove gets) until quite thick, stirring constantly.

Add light cream to a separate bowl. Drain custard using a fine mesh strainer, then pour into the bowl with the heavy cream. Stir to combine. Add blackberry juice/puree to the cream/custard mixture and stir.

Chill mixture completely, then freeze in an ice cream maker until thick, adding mini chocolate chips within the last minute of churning. Place in a tupperware container in the freezer for a few hours before serving. Enjoy – and don’t make too much of a mess!

