Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Happy Easter! It’s been busy this past week! First of all, we bought our first house. Woohoo! Since then, our focus has been on the removal of two rooms of wallpaper. Yes, wallpaper. Did you know that this papery substance people glue to their interior walls is, in fact, evil? Yes. Why? Wallpaper has so many disadvantages. It looks outdated more quickly than paint, it peels, and it’s the most difficult wall covering to change. Scraping, peeling, scraping, de-gluing, mucking, and crying. This wallpaper deserves a terrible fate.

Back to Easter, because Easter is a happy time! After heading to my first ever sunrise service on Sunday (a great experience, especially when the sun rose during the scripture reading of Jesus’ tomb being found empty!), I had a mission in mind to use up some Eastery cupcake papers that my momma gave me last year. How could I allow another year to go by without using them? Hence, carrot cupcakes were destined to be baked.

I made carrot cupcakes about a year ago, and they turned out really well. However, I cannot for the life of me remember how I did it! So, I must try and try again to find a recipe I see fit. And this one was good. Not amazing, but good. They were moist, fluffy, and light. Also, if anyone has a ground-breaking cream cheese icing recipe, let me know. This one was good, but I like my cream cheese icing to taste almost as rich as cheesecake :)

Carrot Cupcake 1

Carrot Cupcake

Carrot Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Icing (adapted from Sam’s Famous Carrot Cake Recipe)

3 eggs
3/4 cup buttermilk (I used a little under 1 cup of milk with 1 Tbs of lemon juice)
3/4 cup vegetable oil
1 1/2 cups white sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
2 cups shredded carrots
1 cup flaked coconut
1 cup chopped walnuts (optional, I did not add these)
1 (8 ounce) can crushed pineapple with juice
1 cup raisins

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Line a 12 cup muffin pan with muffin/cupcake papers.

In a medium bowl, sift together flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon. Set aside.

In an electric mixer, combine eggs, buttermilk, oil, sugar and vanilla. Beat at medium speed until mixed well. Gradually add flour mixture to the wet ingredients. Mix until combined.

In a medium bowl, combine shredded carrots, coconut, walnuts, pineapple and raisins. Add carrot mixture to batter and fold in well. Scoop equal amounts into each muffin cup, and bake at 350 degrees F for about 30 minutes. Check with toothpick. Allow to cool on a wire rack before icing.

Cream Cheese Icing (Not my favorite recipe for it, but not bad)

1 package low-fat cream cheese, room temperature
1/2 c butter, room temperature
1 1/2 c powdered sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp almond extract (optional)

Whip cream cheese, butter, vanilla, and almond extract in an electric mixer until fully combined and fluffy. Gradually add powdered sugar and whip until combined. You may frost the cupcakes immediately after this is mixed or place in the refrigerator until it is more firm.

Once you ice the cupcakes, sprinkle a little tuft of coconut flakes on each one, and you have a beautiful Easter treat!

