Tags

, , , , , ,

In an effort to be healthy, I’ve made a goal to have more vegetarian meals in my life. While I’m not the expert in nutrition, there are plenty of articles out there that suggest that having a few meatless meals each week can have a positive impact on your health. So here I am, eating lots of quinoa.

Quinoa is one of my favorite grains to cook because it is so simple, beautiful, and quick. It’s also a great source of protein! I was looking for something quick to make on a weeknight, and this just came together. To my surprise, it was quite delicious, and I will be making it again!

warm quinoa salad

Warm Quinoa-Salsa Salad

2 cups cooked tri-color quinoa
1 jar salsa (mild or medium)
3/4 cup yellow corn kernels (canned or fresh)
1 small green pepper, chopped or sliced
1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 Tbs lime juice
1/2 tsp chipotle chili powder
1/2 tsp cumin
dash of paprika
freshly ground pepper
Mexican cheese mix

While quinoa is cooking, heat a small amount of olive or vegetable oil in a skillet. Once the pan is hot, saute green pepper with garlic and corn kernels; about 5 minutes. Next, add the lime juice, chipotle chili powder, cumin, paprika, ground pepper, and salsa. Stir and allow everything to heat through. Stir in the black beans and quinoa. Serve with Mexican cheese sprinkled on top. You can also serve this in tortillas or hard taco shells.

This recipe really is nice and easy for a weeknight meal, it’s full of protein, and a great Meatless Monday option.

