Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I know I am behind on these posts. In fact, I don’t even have an image for this recipe…sorry :-\
However, I thought it was still blog-worthy and couldn’t pass up the chance to tell you all about it! Hopefully, I will remember to snap a photo next time I make it so you can all see how wonderful it actually is!

One of my favorite things to do is make birthday treats for my coworkers. This time it happened to be Erik’s birthday, and his request was for something I hadn’t yet made. Mint chocolate chip ice cream. Mmmm…need I say more? You don’t have to convince ME to make and eat ice cream! Seriously, if you know me at all, you know that ice cream is my kryptonite.

This is the recipe I landed on, thanks to Pinterest, as usual, and it’s definitely going in my cookbook collection. I hope you enjoy it as much as we all did!

Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

2 cups light cream
1 1/2 cups whole milk
3/4 cup sugar
4 lg egg yolks (yeah, not cholesterol friendly!!)
1 tsp vanilla
1 1/2 tsp peppermint extract
2 drops green food coloring (optional)
3 ozs. good quality bittersweet chocolate, chopped, or mini chocolate chips

In a medium bowl, whisk together egg yolks and set aside. Combine the cream, milk, and sugar in a saucepan over medium-low heat, stirring occasionally. Don’t allow mixture to boil, but watch it for steam and little bubbles to form around the edges. Remove from heat.

Slowly add the milk mixture to the eggs, whisking constantly. You can do this by pouring it directly from the pan in a slow, small, steady stream. Or use a ladle and slowly add the milk to the eggs. (You don’t have to add the whole milk mixture to the eggs, just enough to get the eggs to the same temp as the milk mixture in the pan, then add it back in to the milk.) Once mixture is completely combined, return it to the saucepan and place over medium heat.

Continue to cook until thickened and mixture just coats the back of a wooden spoon, stirring occasionally.

Remove from heat and add the vanilla and mint extracts. Add food coloring, if using. Pour into a shallow dish and cover. Chill for a few hours or overnight. When ready to make the ice cream, freeze according to manufacturer’s directions. Add chocolate in the last five minutes of churning. If desired, transfer the ice cream to a bowl and freeze until ready to serve.

This recipe really turned out well and was a big hit. This is definitely one I will be making again.

