Tags

, , , , , ,

As Nittany Lions, my college roommates and I were almost always testing and trading recipes.  Each one has inspired me to challenge myself in the kitchen, and believe it or not, I could hardly cook when I first moved off-campus.  Yes, I had some rocky starts…I distinctly remember almost destroying a roommate’s nice bakeware…and I may have set the smoke alarm off a time or two…or five.

Alas, since then I’ve come a long way, and thanks to all who had patience with me as I learned!  Especially Kyle, because he is my perpetual recipe guinea pig.  He’s such a trooper, hopefully he does not bust a button any time soon…

One of my dear friends and college roommates, Emile, shared this recipe with me a few years ago, and I think it might be one of my favorite chocolate chip cookie recipes.  It’s pretty hard to go wrong with chocolate and peanut butter together!  I made these cookies on Friday night, and they never fail to produce delicious baked nuggets of chocolate-chippiness!

chunky chippers

chunks of chocolate

chocolate chip cookie

Emile’s Chunky Chipper Cookies

2 c flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 c vegetable shortening
1/2 c chunky peanut butter
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1 c sugar
1/2 c packed brown sugar
1 Tbs water
12 oz package semi-sweet chocolate chips (I used Ghiradelli 60% cacao)

– Mix flour, baking soda, salt.
– Beat shortening, peanut butter, eggs, sugars, vanilla, and water in a separate bowl.
– Add flour mixture to the shortening mixture.
– Stir in chocolate chips and bake at 350 for 12-14 minutes.

