Tags

, , , , , , ,

Lately I’ve been into smoothies. Don’t ask me why. For some reason I need liquefied frozen fruit and yogurt blended together even though it’s the middle of February and a mere 25 degrees outside. Maybe it’s just a craving for fresh fruit and Greek yogurt – but there are so many possibilities with smoothies! Sweet, fruity, full of nutella or peanut butter, coconut creaminess…

Smoothies are cousins to milkshakes, milkshakes are made with ice cream, and ice cream is my favorite food. There. Mystery solved. No wonder I love smoothies so much on a blustery winter day!

Here’s one I made up for Sunday morning breakfast, although it needs some tweaking. Ideally, it would have been nice to add a half cup of Greek yogurt and perhaps some coconut milk, but these ingredients were not in my cupboard. So I improvised, as usual.

Berry-Banana-Coconut Smoothies

1 cup frozen blueberries or blackberries (or a little bit of both)
2 bananas (if you think of it ahead of time, peel them, wrap in plastic wrap, and freeze)
1/4-1/2 c sweetened or unsweetened shredded coconut
1-1 1/2 c milk (1/2 c Greek yogurt, 1/2 c lite coconut milk, & 1/2 c milk)
2 Tbs honey
1 Tbs Benefiber (yay fiber!)

Combine all ingredients in a blender. Pulse until big chunks are gone; blend on high speed until desired consistency is reached.

Feel proud of yourself for making such a tasty, healthy breakfast, then enjoy!

