Tags

, , ,

Oh, do I love ice cream.  I think it’s my favorite food, next to a good macaroni and cheese with applesauce.  Don’t judge me.

I’ve been experimenting in the kitchen with many kinds of ice cream, some have flopped, some have knocked my socks off.  (Well, not literally, because my feet are always cold, and I hate being barefoot.)  I think that this ice cream came somewhere between really good and sinfully delicious.  I say sinfully because with 6 oz of cream cheese and over a cup of cream, it’s hard to be anything else!

I have always been a big fan of cheesecake, so why not combine this with the best food ever invented: ice cream!  Whoever engineered this wonderful combination was a genius.  Probably Ben & Jerry, but what do I know?

I adapted the original recipe because the batter was simply too thick, and I knew that it would produce an ice cream that was impossible to scoop.  Next time I make this (yes, there will be a next time), I’m adding even more cream to yield a smoother frozen dessert.

[Favorite Fruit Here] Cheesecake Ice Cream (Adapted from this Dine O Mite post)

6 oz. cream cheese, cut into chunks
Zest of 1 lemon (I used a teaspoon of lemon juice instead)
3/4 c nonfat Greek yogurt (I use Wegman’s brand 0%)
1 1/2 – 2 cups light cream or half and half
1/2 c sugar
Pinch of sea salt
1 cup frozen or chilled fresh fruit (I used blueberries, perhaps I will make a blueberry sauce next time)

Zest lemon directly into a blender; add sour cream, cream, sugar, salt, and cream cheese.  Puree until smooth, then store in refrigerator for several hours before churning.

Churn in ice cream maker according to manufacturer’s instructions, or until desired consistency is reached.  Add fruit in the last few minutes of churning. Transfer to shallow containers, then to the freezer for a few hours before serving.

Then shamelessly lick the bowl.

