Last weekend I had the urge to bake. I know, it’s so unusual for this to happen! Actually, I’m always in the mood to bake something, so this was no surprise :)

I couldn’t decide on anything, and I knew I wanted to make something with ingredients I already had in my cupboards. So I laid all of my cookbooks out and started scanning, but not even Giada or Ina really had anything that was catching my eye. Until I opened up the Taste of Home Cookbook. Helloooo Angel Food Cake recipe!!

This was perfect, I had everything I needed…until I read more closely. Ingredient #1: 12 egg whites.

12 egg whites?! What?! Why?! There was no way I was going to waste a dozen eggs on this one recipe! What if it didn’t turn out? What if it was a flop? But Kyle is such an encouraging husband :) He told me to just make it. Who cares if you use all of the eggs? Try it! Ahhh….the sweet sound of rationalization. Music to my ears. All I needed was someone to tell me it was okay to whip up all of the fluffy deliciousness that are egg whites into a perfect, foamy angel food cake. And it was well worth it!

Traditional Angel Food Cake (Adapted from the Taste of Home Cookbook)

1 1/2 cups egg whites (about 12 eggs)
1 cup cake flour
1 1/2 cups plus 2 Tbs sugar, divided
1 1/2 tsp cream of tartar
2 tsp vanilla
1/4 tsp salt

1. Place egg whites in a large mixing bowl and let stand at room temperature for 30 minutes. Meanwhile, sift flour and 3/4 cup plus 2 Tbs sugar together twice; set aside.

2. Add cream of tartar, extract, and salt to egg whites; beat on medium speed until soft peaks form. Gradually add remaining sugar, 2 Tbs at a time, beating on high until stiff peaks form and sugar is dissolved. Gradually fold in flour mixture, a fourth at a time.

3. Gently spoon into an ungreased 10-in. tube pan. Cut through the batter with a knife to remove air pockets. Bake on the lowest oven rack at 375 for 30-35 minutes or until top springs back when lightly touched and cracks feel dry. Immediately invert pan; cool completely, about 1 hour.

4. Run a knife around sides and center tube of cake pan. Remove cake to a serving plate. Serve and enjoy!

